What I do with extra paint…

Within any series of work I create are a couple of pieces on which I run out of ideas as to what put on them.  Some pieces are the result of the leftover paint on my palette.  Rather than leaving the acrylic paint dry out and go wasted, I would paint or smear the paint onto a leftover piece of matboard.  Afterwards I would scrounge up some beads or other objects to sew or glue into place.

Here’s a result of one such project.

I do this stuff, because I get feedback on them that I would never expect.  At an outdoor art festival I would display such pieces to “fill in space” while the better works are displayed “front and centered.”  As people stopped in my booth to look, they would comment on the “weaker” pieces.  This always surprise me, for I forget that the viewer see something entirely different in the work than I.

About meshimages

I'm an artist. I make assemblages of found images and objects and bits and pieces of my own doodlings.
This entry was posted in Art, Fine Art, Visual Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

