To make up for, to atone, to make amends for, to expiate…

Other words that appear on this piece:

  • ungainly
  • intelligent
  • shocking
  • fortunate
  • awkward
  • employment
  • empoison
  • Emporia
  • emporium
  • empoverish
  • empower
  • empress
  • emprise
  • Empson
  • empowerment
  • mammoth
  • bier
  • sniveler
  • malediction
  • execration
  • imprecation
  • anathema
  • ban
  • employ-ability
  • farcical
  • absurd
  • prejudicial
  • shrewd
  • common
  • “Opportunities multiply as they are seized, they die when neglected.”

I have a full-time job. I work at a retail store to pay the bills and put food on the table.  As of April I will have been with the company for 12 years.  My job comes with benefits:  3 weeks of vacation a year, a 401k, and an opportunity to buy health insurance coverage.

The company chooses which insurance company to buy policies from for its employees, so I have little choice in the matter.  My choices are either a traditional PPO plan, an HRA plan, or nothing.  Since my husband and I have arthritis and other health issues which are now “pre-existing conditions,” I opted for the traditional PPO plan.

My husband, by the way, is currently unemployed due mostly to his severely damaged knees.  He can not work a full 8-hour day, nor can he stand in one place for more than a half an hour.

Here’s the thing.  Due to the stress of my job, my health has been slowly deteriorating.  Apart from the arthritis, I have a degraded disc  in my neck which pinches a nerve and shoots sharp, stabbing pain down the left side of my back and numbness down my left arm.  I take tramadol and Tylenol every 4 hours daily to deal with the pain.  I have also developed gastroparesis – a condition in which the muscles in your stomach don’t function normally.   As a result, I have lost 20 pounds in the past year.  So for that I take another regiment of drugs which costs me around $150 or more every 90 days  – with health insurance, in which I get through my employer from where I got sick in the first place.

About meshimages

I'm an artist. I make assemblages of found images and objects and bits and pieces of my own doodlings.
This entry was posted in Art, social commentary, Visual Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

